Membership & Participation

Our Articles of Association specify the membership of MSFOMA and how organisations and individuals can participate in meetings.  These Articles were drafted to ensure that when MSFOMA was created in 2010 it retained cross-sectoral participation in the management of the Fishery Order.

Organisations and individuals can participate in the governance of MSFOMA as Directors, Members, Observers or Advisors.  Directors and Members are entitled to vote on motions.  Observers and Advisors are entitled to attend and speak at meetings, but not to vote on motions.  Details of each role are set out in the Articles of Associaton which can be viewed here.


The organisations that are entitled to be Members of MSFOMA, and their representatives are:-

  • Natural Resources Wales (Rowland Sharp)¹
  • Ynys Môn County Council (Iwan Huws)¹
  • Gwynedd County Council (Ioan Thomas)
  • Centre for Applied Marine Sciences, Bangor University (Lewis Le Vay)
  • Representative of mussel farmers (James Wilson)²
  • Representative of mussel fishermen (Keith Andrews)²
  • Chair (Alan Winstone)²

¹ These organisations have not taken up the invitation to participate as Members of the Association and therefore attend meetings as Observers.
² These individuals are also Directors of the Association.


Welsh Government are invited to attend all MSFOMA meetings as Observers.

During 2019, MSFOMA invited Beaumaris Town Council and Bangor City Council to participate as Observers at its meetings.


In addition to the organisations named specifically in its Articles, the Association can invite specialist Advisors to its meetings.

All Members, Observers and Advisors are required to observe the “Nolan Principles” of public life (available here) and to declare any interests that they may have in agenda items prior to the start of any meetings.

The attendance by Members, Directors, Observers and Advisors at all MSFOMA meetings is recorded in the minutes of Association meetings, which can be found here.

Comments are closed.